The Right Thing

I feel like a coward. I am afraid to show my true self to everyone I know.   It’s nothing as serious as coming out of the closet or confessing an affair, but a big part of who I am as a person I keep silently hidden from all.

If you look at politics and political parties and such, the opinions and sides people choose say a lot about a person. If a person is a strong pro-life supporter, if they want to build a wall between the U.S. and Mexico, supported Obama, didn’t support him, or, if they voted or not. These are all glimpses into a person’s personality, morals, education, upbringing, social and economic standing, etc. All these opinions are valid, important, and deserve to be heard if that person chooses to express them. That’s what it means to be an American after all, isn’t it?

I am too afraid to express myself. Where I live, people express their opinions boldly and assume everyone in the room agrees with them. Most of the time they do, too. I have been at family events with a house full of my husband and his family and they all agree on all of the top political and social issues. I don’t have anyone to stand by me in support, so I stay silent and ashamed. Ashamed because my causes need my voice and my presence. My opinions on social and matters are just as valid as anyone else’s. My children need to see and hear their mother stand up for the battles that are important to her, despite how unpopular they are to the people around them.

I have tried to express myself over the years, but never educated myself enough on the issues to feel confident enough to participate in the inevitable debate. On the inside I felt strongly that I was right and that was enough for me. But lately, however, a tightness is in my chest, a gnawing in my belly says, “Open your mouth! You are not invisible! Your opinion matters!”

I am going to begin here and hopefully it will help me build a little confidence. I have been trying to educate myself more with reading many sources and listening to public radio (which is very interesting, surprisingly).  I feel like I’m about to take a big coat off to reveal my glittery, rainbow body suit complete with roller skates underneath!

I wanted to go to the capital yesterday and wear a big pussyhat on my head for women’s rights! I’m a woman! I believe in equality for women! I don’t believe there should be a big wall between us and Mexico! The president of Mexico said he doesn’t want those immigrants back. What will those people do?? I think it’s terrible to round up mothers and fathers and separate them from their children. Then they will be deported to a country who doesn’t want them, nor can they thrive in. Also, the big wall that Mexico isn’t going to pay for, seems like there’s a good chance that we are going to be paying for it! Campaign promise? Um, not even a little close.

Not letting Muslims into our country from those six (was seven) countries is insane. It is discrimination I don’t care how you spin it! It’s like people think that there’s a line of terrorists coming off the plane and our people are stopping them. “Halt! You are a terrorist, so you can’t come into our country.” And everyone is clapping and saying “Yay! We don’t want those people in here, he’s so smart.” It’s not that simple! If only it was! It is so scary to me that this is happening! I’ve heard so many reports that more terrorist attacks in the U.S. have been caused by American born citizens. Does the administration not see that?

One of the latest controversies is that Trump claims that Obama bugged Trump Tower. Really? If you look and see the trail of where he got that idea, it is simply ludicrous! To make it even more fun, Trump didn’t ask anyone in his administration to look into it, he just made his own conclusion from the stuff he heard, and just tweeted it out into the world! Yes, that’s presidential! Holy shit! Meanwhile, in my neck of the woods, crickets are chirping…no one is saying a word. Argh!!!!

By the way, I’d like to add that I believe in gay rights, and gay marriage. I think transgender people should be able to use which ever bathroom they choose. Who gives a shit? That’s so stupid! As a mother of two boys, the thing I was worried about when we went to public bathrooms was the perverted straight looking guy in the men’s room preying on little boys that came in there. It sure wasn’t a transgender person.

I also think there should be more funds and help for people with mental illnesses, which hits close to home obviously, if you are on my blog. The sheriff of Nashville said that around 2% I believe of their arrests are immigrant related, but 30% are mentally ill people. I think that says a lot.

There are some issues that I haven’t investigated yet, so I have to make sure what the deal is. I believe in women’s reproductive rights, and I believe they are working on defunding Planned Parenthood. I’m not positive, but at one time I think they were talking about overturning Roe vs. Wade.

Deregulating Wall Street. What does that mean? It sounds like it means they can do whatever the hell they want to, but it’s another issue I have to look into.

Well, I know there’s more, but I can’t think of them right now! But I sure do feel better! Maybe now I can open my mouth about one of those things. But I have to make sure and get the facts straight. As straight as they can be! Oh yeah! The media!!! Ok, another day…

4 thoughts on “The Right Thing

  1. It’s always great to speak up! The only way the world can change for the better is if people start to speak up. So good for you! I do agree with a lot of stuff you have said which is fantastic. Good on you!

    • Thanks! it felt good to get it off my chest here first haha
      Maybe, like you, more people agree with me than I know. 🙂

  2. I know exactly how you feel. I have very strong opinions, but have no interest in getting into a shouting match about them with someone who disagrees with me. I know I won’t change their mind, and I know they won’t change mine. So instead, I keep my mouth shut in a million different situations. I understand feeling like a coward and the guilt of not “helping” the causes I believe in. I too try to listen to a lot of different sources so I don’t stay in a bubble of only those who agree with me. Unfortunately those with the strongest, loudest opinions don’t always do the same.
    I went to the Women’s March on January 21st. It felt so good to finally speak up and support what I believe in! I still don’t go around broadcasting my views on places like facebook because I don’t want to be trolled by judgmental people who disagree. If that makes me a coward, so be it. 🙂

  3. Thank you for your comment! I bet that was awesome going to the March! I would have loved to have gone! I listen to what’s going on lately and I can’t believe my ears. Craziness! Thanks for reading. have a good day!

Leave a Reply

